Learning About Islam ~ Seeking Answers 2

As I mention in my previous post ‘Learning about Islam ~ Seeking Answers 1’, my initial exploration into what Islam is all about left me with quite a few questions. Obviously I didn’t get these answered all at once! In fact, I didn’t even think of all these questions at the same time. Rather, they developed over several months, just spinning around in the back of my mind.

Seeking answers to these questions also didn’t occur all at once. Instead, I’d see something and want to know more. Below is a summation of some of the information I found that lead to ‘answers’ for my questions.

(NOTE: these answers may not be true or accurate. They are simply what I found and observed on my own during my time of information seeking)

2 ~ Are there Muslim people where I live and how can I engage or get to know them?

I live on the Sunshine Coast. Recently moved (within the past 12 months), so I don’t know the area all that well. But I came to learn that there is a Muslim community here and they had recently purchased a property to convert into a space they could use as their mosque. Aaand apparently the local community was not all that thrilled. Well, perhaps a vocal few were not happy about it. I’m not sure at this point roughly how many Muslim people are living on the Sunshine Coast. It’s a pretty large area to cover, so I imagine Muslims are travelling for 30 to 60 minutes to attend any gatherings. I think that’s a big hike, but that might be just me.

I gave quite a bit of thought to how could I get to know Muslim people. The first and obvious option, was to google Sunshine Coast Muslims. Hardly surprising, I found the website. 🙂 http://www.mosc.org.au/

Oh and look there, on the MAIN PAGE there is even a press release condemning extremist acts of terror.

Anyway, I can tell you that I didn’t learn much from their website. But it wasn’t a waste because a few months later I emailed someone and began the journey to learning how to do Islam, but that is a whole other series!

I also started reading bits and pieces of blogs that I came across. I find blogs are more personal than YouTube videos or Sheiks talking about Islam. People are a lot more honest about their personal values and beliefs in a blog, and I found the same held true for Muslim bloggers as well. I definitely appreciated the bloggers who spoke about not being perfect Muslims, or the little things they sometimes struggled with.


 

That’s all for this post. Short and sweet. There really isn’t much to say about how to get involved and meet people of another faith group or culture. You just have to go meet people.

Keep an eye out for the 3rd section!

One thought on “Learning About Islam ~ Seeking Answers 2

  1. Pingback: Learning About Islam ~ Seeking Answers ~ 1 | Faith ~ Home ~ Business

Leave a Reply

